The OhioMATYC Distinguished Service Award has been established to recognize professors who have contributed to mathematics education. Nominations for the bi-annual OhioMATYC Award for Distinguished Service are to be sent to the chair of the selection committee. Self-nomination is not permitted.


  1. The person must currently be a member of OhioMATYC.
  2. The person must have at least five years college teaching experience in mathematically related courses.
  3. Elected members of the executive committee are not eligible.
  4. Previous awardees are not eligible for nominations until three other awardees have been recognized.

Guidelines for Nominations

The nominee should:

  1. Have service to mathematics education locally and regionally and/or nationally.
  2. Have been involved in professional presentations and publications related to mathematics education.
  3. Have any other service or information not mentioned above such as awards, grants, other positions held, etc.


The executive committee will serve as the selection committee. The chair of the selection committee shall be the past president. Nominations must be received by the chairperson of the selection committee by February 15, 2017. Nominees may be asked to provide additional information. The winner will be announced at the Spring Meeting in 2017.

Powered by ChronoForms -